Bloom’s Taxonomy

Bloom’s taxonomy is a powerful tool to help teachers to develop learning objectives because it explains the process of learning.

Bloom’s Taxonomy is a classification of the different objectives and skills that educators set for their students (learning objectives). The six levels of learning are:

Like other taxonomies, Bloom’s is hierarchical, meaning that learning at the higher levels is dependent on having attained prerequisite knowledge and skills at lower levels. You will see Bloom’s Taxonomy often displayed as a pyramid graphic to help demonstrate this hierarchy. We have updated this pyramid into a “cake-style” hierarchy to emphasize that each level is built on a foundation of the previous levels.

                                                                                              By Jessica Shabatura

Bloom’s taxonomy is a powerful tool to help teachers to develop learning objectives because it explains the process of learning:

  • Before you can understanda concept, you must remember
  • To applya concept you must first understand 
  • In order to evaluatea process, you must have analyzed
  • To createan accurate conclusion, you must have completed a thorough evaluation.

University of Arkansas

Are you inspired enough?

Apply now